Chief Constables

Durham Constabulary was one of the first county police forces to be set up in 1839.
The force absorbed Durham City Police (formed in 1836) in 1921, Hartlepool Borough Police (formed in 1851) in 1947, Sunderland Borough Police (formed in 1837) in 1967, and Gateshead Borough Police (formed in 1836) and South Shields Borough Police (formed in 1839) in 1968, when it also lost some of its area to Teesside Constabulary.
In 1965, the force had an establishment of 1,763 and an actual strength of 1,626
Under the Local Government Act 1972, in 1974, the northern area of the force (including Gateshead, Sunderland and South Shields) became part of Northumbria Police, with Hartlepool and Stockton-on-Tees in the south-east going to Cleveland Constabulary

1848-1892: Colonel George Francis White
1892-1902: John Henry Eden
1902-1922: William George Morant
1922-1942: Sir George Morley
1943-1944: Captain H. Studdy
1944-1950: Colonel Sir Eric St Johnston (Chief Constable of Lancashire, 1950-67)
1950-1970: Alec A Muir
1970-1976: Arthur George "Peter" Puckering
1981-1988: Eldred James Boothby
1988-2002: Frank Taylor
2002: George Hedges
2002-2005: Paul T Garvin
2005–2012: Jon Stoddart
2012–2019: Michael Barton
2019: Jo Farrell

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive